Jump to content

  •  

  • iBotModz CBox


    Photo

    A virus somewhere...


    • Please log in to reply
    8 replies to this topic

    #1 BungieMod

    BungieMod

      Private

    • Members

    • 30 posts
    • Joined: 21-May 08

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:50 PM

    I downloaded a halo 3 modding program (not from halo3glitching which i think he got banned) but anyways... i downloaded a program that has a virus that wiped out my whole computer.. when i log on my computer it only shows documents and i got here by typing the adress in the bar on top of documents

    #2 Dark Slipstream

    Dark Slipstream

      Blue Shadowz Owner

    • Members+

    • 2,829 posts
    • Joined: 19-April 08
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Canada, ON

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:54 PM

    It couldn't have come from this site. They are extensively searched, and reviewed by iBotPeaches, Sub-Admins and Moderators, so i doubt that it came from here.

    Although, I've never heard of such virus.

    PS: This is in wrong topic, you should have put it in the Help section/Problem/Suggestions. Or even Off-Topic, because theres a ton of views in Off-Topic.

    #3 swatcinema

    swatcinema

      Private

    • Members+

    • 37 posts
    • Joined: 15-May 08
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:55 PM

    i know how to fix add me on xbl GT:xtwisted metal

    #4 BungieMod

    BungieMod

      Private

    • Members

    • 30 posts
    • Joined: 21-May 08

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 07:28 PM

    You can help me get start menu back? and desktop and everything?? O yeah and not sure if it was from this site.. maybe, maybe not

    #5 iBotPeaches

    iBotPeaches

      General Grade 6

    • Owner

    • 6,570 posts
    • Joined: 29-July 07
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Kansas

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:54 PM

    i know how to fix add me on xbl GT:xtwisted metal


    Wow way to be nice. He needs help and you will only tell him on XboxLive. Wow.....


    BungieMod, all files here that are even close to a virus are scanned by either me, fattwam or smokie. Unless it was posted and you got it that split second that was your fault. You should understand the risk that 100000 people are looking for a program that most people make a "fake" on to infect your computer. Please understand the risk.

    Listen to this advice. Every time I download a Halo related program I always go to virustotal.com. All you do is upload the file there and 32 daily updated anti-virus protectors run it. Please do that next time.

    Now for the fix,

    Your process "explorer.exe) has been ended. That controls the desktop and start menu you need it back by either....

    Going to (msconfig) in run and re-enabling it, then rebooting.

    or
    You need to be able to click "CTRL, ALT, DEL" to bring up Current Processes then look for any process that is in aLtErnAtInG caps. That proves that process isn't legit and can be ended safely. It there is none of that end processes that sound weird like (junshed.exe) or (micrrosoft.exe) anything misspelled slightly so you don't notice. If that fails you need to turn off computer, boot "Safe Mode" do a computer reset to date of infection.

    #6 Guest__*

    Guest__*
    • Guests

    • Joined: --

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 09:39 PM

    safe-mode man, best thing for ya. when you boot your computer, keep pressing F8 till you get into the boot prompt. Choose safe mode with networking. This will put you in safe mode, while allowing you to access network resources such as the internet.
    then download nod32 and Zone alarm PRO from warez-bb.com and install both of those, zone alarm PRO first. reboot, and then run a full scan with NOD32. Once it's done, Run a scan with Zone Alarm PRO. This should remove your virus problems.
    Also, if you downloaded a halo 3 resigner called X360, tell me because i know exactly how to fix your computer if that's the case.

    #7 Curtis

    Curtis

      Captain Grade 1

    • Retired Staff

    • 1,382 posts
    • Joined: 18-August 07
    • Location:Saskatchewan

    Posted 20 June 2008 - 11:29 PM

    You didn't download one of Fattwams apps did you by any chance?

    #8 SmokiestGrunl

    SmokiestGrunl

      Australian Retired Staff

    • Retired Staff

    • 3,888 posts
    • Joined: 02-September 07
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Australia

    Posted 21 June 2008 - 02:02 AM

    Wrong section and peaches has your answer.

    #9 Crosseyes

    Crosseyes

      Private Grade 2

    • Members+

    • 65 posts
    • Joined: 21-November 07

    Posted 21 June 2008 - 10:59 AM

    Yeh, just to some up what they said...

    log in

    press CTRL+ALT+DEL

    Kill any processes that seem suspicious (recommended you do so by opening up "msconfig" from the "Run" menu and disabling the processes from that as you can hide any Microsoft processes)

    If you used MSConfig, restart your computer, log in and press CTRL+ALT+DEL again.

    Go to "New Process" and type in "explorer.exe"

    Load up an internet browser and download any of the above recommended virus removing programs and sweep your computer.

    I had a similar problem only it wasn't caused by a virus, more like a direct screw-over from Micro$oft.

    I got Windows Vista with a serial key, and I registered and it told me I had entered a correct key. About a month later it just shut off and said I had an invalid product key. But, due to their super-smartness, I was able to use the "buy a product key online" option, which opened up FireFox, to exploit Vista to next-to-full use by launching explorer.exe.




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users