#1 slasherking823

slasherking823

Corporal Grade 1

• Members+

• 152 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 10:48 PM

First Stage:
    I first joined modding sites a long time ago
    I started out just leaching off communities such as afterdawn, as I got ahold of an OG xbox and started modding it
    I had little knowledge, but i could see that these communities worked together, and people were helpful to one another

Second Stage:
    I was a noob
    I had little knowlage, and I just made stupid replies and waited for things to happen
    this is the stage that in the end doomed the modding communities

not that I have anything against noobs, its just that the ones who dont seek knowledge get hard to handle

Third Stage:
    I began to gain knowlage
    I learned how to program, I made a really stupid program
    At this point I think everything is still going steady

Fourth Stage:
    I suddenly realize that a lot of crap has been happening while I have been absorbing knowlage
    I tried to speak out, and got banned, from what I then realized, was the gayest site ever(se7engays)
    I realize what site management is, and how it needs to be done
    I come back here, to notice that things are more or less dead

Now I sit and ofter help to those who need it

What could have changed during this time? What could have saved the things that happened?
    The reason I post my history is because new members of the communities need to try to get past some obstacles:
    1st: Read
    2nd: Pay atention to what is happening, after getting a feel for basic modding
    3rd: Be helpful, this is what ruins most
    4th: Dont be afraid to say things, maybe you will get flamed, but in the end, you will know more
    5th: watch out for site cancer: if all a site has is 5year olds that dont contribute (mw2 stuff anyone), get out

I have more I could say, but I dont know if I have the time, or will

And as an addition:

Does anyone have any ideas on how things could ever go back?